The Winsome Run

a running blog

Janathon Day 10 – Race Suggestions?

10 Comments

I’ve been thinking about the races I want to do this year. Last year I ran a couple of club 10k races and the Great Scottish Run half marathon, Glasgow. This year I want to run a couple of half marathons and maybe *whispered* my first marathon in the second half of the year.

Image

The River Dee

I think I prefer the idea of scenery over mass city start. My first half was the Half BraemarAthon, starting in the village of Braemar, following the Linn of Dee Road to the Cairngorm National Park and back (see photo at top of page). There were 100 runners, I had no expectations other than not finishing last (which I didn’t) and I kept thinking to myself how lucky I was to be there (despite the mile long hill at mile 11).

So with that in mind and after reading this month’s Runner’s Worldย I decided on the Mull of Kintyre Half. I went to book my place last night only to find that it sold out in 48 hours at the beginning of the month.

For my first marathon I was very tempted by the Loch Ness Marathon on the 28 September. However I have been warned that it is VERY hilly and I’m really not sure I can do very hilly.

So now I’m not sure what to do. Any suggestions? My preference would be Scotland or the North of England, though I would consider most places for a stunning location or London, South/West London as my sister lives in Chessington so free accommodation!ย 

Janathon effort today was a full core-strength programme while the wine chilled in the fridge. Wine is now open ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Image

A Red Squirrel

10 thoughts on “Janathon Day 10 – Race Suggestions?

  1. If you do consider London, I can recommend the Royal Parks Half, which is through four of the big central London parks. It’s got a fantastic atmosphere, superb organisation and the scenery is great. It’s a bit of a bun fight getting a place though – you have to register for a ballot place, so no guarantee unless you fancy running for a charity. I managed to get a second chance ballot place last year (I opted to forfeit my entry fee if I was unsuccessful in the first ballot which gives you another go), so it is possible.

  2. Love the red squirrel. Now I am after a race also but at the other end of the country. Ealing can’t be too far from chessington and I have some bloggy friends that rate the Ealing half marathon. I loved the Cardiff half but that is a way for you! Will be interested in. The suggestions you get.

  3. London Marathon for me every time – amazing atmosphere and the organisation is down to a T – hard to get into though! Another option which my brother did and which I quite fancy is Dublin.

  4. Loch Ness isn’t too bad for hills. Just one slow climb at Dores for a mile or so. I’m signed up for my third in a row! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. No race suggestions from me I’m afraid. Too tight. I rarely enter races.

    Love the scenery in that first pic ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

