The Winsome Run

a running blog

Janathon Day 26 – I’ve entered a marathon!

11 Comments

Yesterday afternoon I was reading through some of the Janathon posts, taking note of the people training for their first marathons, like Sam at runliverpool and Emily at emilysrunningadventures. I experienced a sudden rush to the head and before I knew it I had entered the Loch Ness Marathon on the 29th September! Eeek!!

According toย the website it is 34 weeks and 6 days away, so I have plenty of time for a gradual build up or alternatively, 30 weeks to forget it is happening followed by 4 weeks and 6 days of sheer panic! I’m determined to achieve the former so will need to find a few half marathons to run in the meantime.

Image

I agreed to help a friend deliver leaflets for her business this afternoon, during the brief window offering the driest weather of the day. That meant a run this morning, I analysed the weather data minutely and delayed until 10:30 am. It paid off, the first mile or so was in heavy rain but it eased and was dry for the last 5 miles, part of it along the very swollen River Kelvin. 6.64 for miles my longest run this month.

(Last time I took a photo of a river I dropped my iPhone in it, oops! I was holding on very tightly today and a good step back from the edge!!).

Stats:

Running – 56.09

Swimming – 2900 metres

Cycling – ย 9.6 miles

Core-Strengthening – 15 sessions

11 thoughts on “Janathon Day 26 – I’ve entered a marathon!

  1. This walking Janathoner is very very impressed! Well done, and good luck.

  2. Good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ I appear to have signed up for a totally non-competitive half iron-man thing that some friends have put together for the end of May. Luckily they all seem so laid back about it I have already said I am going to kayak instead of sea swim for the watery part. It’s funny how these rushes of blood to the head can lead to such things.

    • That sounds like a lot of fun (as long as I don’t have to do it!). It is also interesting that the head rush seems to happen in the company of others, either in real life or on the internet. I have a sneaky suspicion that without Janathon I would never have got around to entering!

      • Haha! Yeah I totally agree with those observations. I haven’t done as much exercise as I intended for the Janathon for a variety of reasons (or excuses!) but it does seem to have spurred me on a bit for the year ahead! Not sure I have time to fit work in though!

  3. That’s very exciting! Looking forward to following your training from a distance. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Brilliant news!

  5. I’ve heard some fab reviews on the Loch Ness Marathon. I wish you the very best of luck training for your first Marathon. I really hope you continue to blog through your training and tell us about the event.

  6. Exciting ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll love it.

  7. Fantastic stuff. Think you’re in for a good time, I’ve only ever heard fantastic things about the Loch Ness Marathon.

Leave a Reply

