The Winsome Run

a running blog

Getting on top of injury

7 Comments

In 2012 while training for my first half marathon I developed an overuse injury to Tibialis Posterior, a calf muscle that supports the arch of the foot. Looking back at my training diary it is hardly surprising: I was doing zero strengthening or cross training and speed/hill sessions were weekly (sometimes twice weekly). Since then I’ve seen two physios and a podiatrist, and I’ve religiously lunged and squatted, stretched, massaged and iced. I’ve run two half marathons niggle free but any attempt to run hills, do speed work or set a 5k PB has resulted in a flare up. It’s a little frustrating.

Not surprisingly, from time to time I will do a little of my own internet research.  Google any running injury or issue and within milliseconds you will be presented with hundreds of different opinions with YouTube videos of stretches and strengthening to go with it. It is hard to know what, if any has any scientific basis to it. On my most recent search I came across this blog by Tom, a Brighton based physio. Tom doesn’t pretend to have all the answers, but he does review the medical literature on running injuries and present that evidence in an easy to follow way. His post on Tibialis Posterior Tendinosis discussed a study that found a combined approach of orthotics, calf stretches, and eccentric strengthening exercises the most effective rehab.Theraband

I already wear orthotics and I was doing calf stretches after every run. However the study recommends 3 x sets of 30 seconds of calf stretching, 3 x day. The strengthening exercises use Theraband and involve 3 x sets of 15, 3 x day.  For 12 weeks.

Twelve weeks!

The thought of adding more exercises into my week, especially three times a day, does not fill me with joy, but having discussed with a physio colleague I’ve decided it is worth a try so I have taken a deep breath,  invested in Theraband and made a start. One week nearly down, only 11 to go 🙂

Tom’s post also suggests looking at running form. I remembered seeing a comment on Twitter regarding Kinetic Revolution, a company that offers 3 hour seminars around the country. They also have a six week online running form course. I’m considering doing either or both. Having read a few of their blog posts, they also appear to be well versed in the current medical literature, rather than caught up in the latest running fad.

Have you ever tried improving your running form? Do you have experience with Kinetic Revolution or perhaps another running form coach?

7 thoughts on “Getting on top of injury

  1. i would love for you to follow my running journey run100run.wordpress.com

  2. How do you find your orthotics? Tonight my new physio said that I’ll probably have to have them again. I have bad memories of having them as a child and not being able to wear the shoes I wanted 😦

    • I have to admit that I only wear them in my trainers and mostly just for running! If my ankle is sore I will wear my trainers to work or out and about (I wear a uniform so it works). They took some getting used to, very gradual build up, and I struggle to get the lacing right on my trainers, but they have made a big difference.

  3. Lots of info in your post. I have never thought about form that much, I can tell that the core strength has helped me be more upright, if that makes sense. I have just been reading a few posts on kinetic revolution which are fascinating. I’ll go back to that later. Hope the resistance bands help.

  4. Pingback: Running form?? | Really a runner

  5. Pingback: Juneathon Friday the 13th | The Winsome Run

Leave a Reply

