The Winsome Run

a running blog

Eglinton parkrun

4 Comments

I returned to parkrun tourism today with a trip to Eglinton parkrun in North Ayrshire, 40 minutes south of Glasgow. Eglinton parkrun has been going for just over a year and is held in one of Scotland’s seemingly countless Country Parks. The course is mostly on trails through woods, past farmland and alongside the River Garnock.

Image

It has been a wet week in the West of Scotland and I didn’t bother to check the weather this morning, something that I was beginning to regret as I was driving south on the M77 in lashing rain (though in Scotland it is best not to check the forecast otherwise you would rarely leave the house!). The result was a muddy and puddly parkrun, that was very scenic and lots of fun.

I even achieved my highest result: 10th woman, and 2nd in my age category. I presume I don’t need to disclose that, at 108 it is also the smallest parkrun field I’ve been part of?

 

I was very glad that I had decided to put my trail shoes on for their first outing. They are well and truly christened now!

Image

This was the 5th of the Scottish parkruns that I have visited and I know this is a big call when I’m not even half way through, but I think Eglinton in the rain might just be my favourite 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Eglinton parkrun

  1. Must be quite a route to be your fav in those conditions. I was came first in my age and was thrilled till madam pointed out that I was the only one in my age category running!

  2. Congrats on your high ranking in your category. I laughed at your comment re listening to Scottish weather forecasts. That’s certainly true here in Ireland also.

Leave a Reply

