The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 1 – On yer bike

8 Comments

Welcome to Juneathon 2014!

I started the annual jog, log, blog fest by getting my bike out of the cupboard for the first time since Janathon. Not surprisingly I had two tyres to pump up so will be adding upper body strengthening to today’s log! I then headed to my favourite cycle route along the Forth and Clyde Canal, joining the towpath at Lock 27, heading west to Bowling.

The route has a downhill slant on the westward journey as the canal drops to meet the Clyde at the Bowling basin. This of course means the return journey has hills. Small hills, granted, but when you’ve not cycled in more than 5 months they are still hills! I was beginning to flag by the time I got back to Lock 27, but job done and I was reminded (yet again) how much I enjoy being out on my bike and was left wondering why I don’t get out on it more often.

As you can see from the photos, the weather was overcast but mostly dry and the canal is looking its best with flowers in bloom and lots of bird life.

Juneathon Day 1

  • Cycling – 19 miles
  • Upper body strengthing

 

8 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 1 – On yer bike

  1. Oh I love anything along a canal, always lots to see, thanks for the great pics

  2. It’s lovely to see so many familiar places, thanks for sharing! I’ve run/walked/cycled there many, many times, and I even remember the cycle path opening! 🙂

  3. 19 miles! Well done! A great start to Juneathon! 🙂

  4. Beautiful setting and an impressive 19 miles! Well done on your Juneathon start!

Leave a Reply

