The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 2 – Marathon Training Programme

4 Comments

Last Monday TartanJogger announced that she was starting her training programme for the Loch Ness Marathon – that gave me a little shock as I thought I had a few more weeks before I needed to get underway on my own Loch Ness training plan. I’ve never really followed a training plan before and I find the range available a little overwhelming and daunting. TartanJogger kindly pointed me in the direction of the Hal Higdon Novice 2 programme. It looks perfect for me: It is easy to follow and takes advantage of the fitness I have built from my half marathon training, with initial mileage of 20 miles/week and long runs at 8 or 9 miles. I will do some swapping around of days to suit as I like to do parkrun on Saturday with my long run Sunday but otherwise I will follow the plan.

I should have started last week too, however I thought resting was a higher priority for me after the half marathon on the 25/05. So instead I’m starting with week 2 today. It’s a rest day! YAY!!

What’s that you say?

Oh.

Sigh. For Juneathon I have done my core strengthening programme: squats, planks, clams, bridges etc etc and stretching.

4 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 2 – Marathon Training Programme

  1. The organisation of a training plan must and should counts towards Juneathon, which reminds me I must sort mine out

  2. Happy Juneathon! The Hal Higdon programs look pretty good. I’m planning on doing one of the half-marathon programs later in the year – not quite up to a marathon yet though. 😉

  3. Another marathoner to read about! I love hearing how training is going 🙂 Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

