The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 3 – A Run in the Sun and a present from home!

8 Comments

It is the 3rd of Juneathon and about time for a run. I have a busy couple of days coming up so decided to do the longer week day run from The Plan. That meant 5 miles easy and I lazily chose my flat, easy, super familiar route.

When I got home from work at 5:30 my car thermometer (my favourite feature in my car) read 16C. But I swear it felt more like 20+C and I soon realised that I had not drunk enough water and probably should have carried water with me, I was starting to feel sick by the time I got home. I’m such a light weight! It is difficult to believe that I’m Australian and clearly I will never be able to return. Though in all seriousness I really must try to sort out this whole hydration thing because I can’t have repeats of my last few long races. If you have any secrets please do share.

Speaking of Australia, I got home today to an unexpected parcel from my parents: I carefully opened it without looking at the customs declaration form (which would spoil the surprise) and discovered a big bag of my favourite sweets from a local, old fashioned sweet shop, Gourlay’s Famous Sweets (that was opened by my very own ancestors in 1896 when they emigrated to Tasmania from Gourock, Scotland, just down the river from where I now live!). The sweets have not one redeeming feature nutritionally speaking, but are amazing. Imagine the joy of Haribo sweets dipped in chocolate, then times it by 100 (because Allen’s lollies are 100x yummier than Haribo).Β 

Maybe I’ll just have another cup of tea and another chocolate coated lolly banana while I catch up on Juneathon blogs πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 3 – A Run in the Sun and a present from home!

  1. Presents from home are always lovely. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh I used to love good parcels! Lucky you, enjoy

  3. Next time I walk by Gourlay’s I’ll wave πŸ™‚ love their jockey caps!

Leave a Reply

