The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 8 – Jog leader Training

7 Comments

Today was the Jog Scotland Jog Leader training course that my running club nominated me to attend. It was a 9 to 5 affair attended by about 20 of us, with classroom activities and two outdoor sessions. A lot of information was covered, though not in a great deal of detail.  The key point I took home was: Do lots of fartlek sessions so people don’t get lost. Or something like that 😉

We clearly did not ask many questions because we were out the door at 3:30 pm  with our new Jog Leader bibs tucked under our arms. It is a bit scary to think I can now be let loose on a bunch of poor, unsuspecting runners!!

Image

I thought I could probably make a case for talking about running and doing some short Indian File and relay sessions as sufficing for my Juneathon effort. But I knew I would only be cheating myself (said in my father’s voice, sigh) so when I got home I did my core-strengthening session.

I’m shattered now, definitely in need of an early night. *Sits on sofa reading Juneathon blogs until the wee small hours*.

7 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 8 – Jog leader Training

  1. Hope your outdoor bits weren’t in the rain!

  2. How exciting! Congratulations 🙂 Do you have a specific plan for the new runners, or will it be stuff that your club wants you to get involved with?

  3. The club usually has 2 or 3 runs of different distances each session so I will lead one of those 2 or 3 times a month (hopefully the shorter runs!!).

Leave a Reply

