The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 15 – Father’s Day, it really is quite simple.

6 Comments

Today is Father’s Day. Well, in the UK it is. In Australia, where my father lives, Father’s Day is the first Sunday in September. In the UK, where I live you can’t buy a Father’s Day card in September (or August, there is a postage lag you know) for love nor money. So I have to buy my father’s Father’s Day card in June and remember to send it in August.

This year I didn’t have to buy a card. I still have the card I bought last year. I forgot to post it. Or write it. Annoying really because last year my Dad was in the UK for the first Sunday in September and I saw him a few days later. He didn’t get a card. I probably forgot to say Happy Father’s Day too.

Today is Father’s Day in the UK. Today, my father is actually in the UK. He’s at my sister’s house, she lives Down South (ie England). She is spoiling him with beef cooked on the Weber and some kind of chocolate/banana/honeycomb/pavlova concoction that she posted a photo of on Facebook. I kind of wish I was Down South eating chocolate/banana/honeycomb pavlova too. She is a good daughter, I think she is the favourite.

Perhaps I should have sent my father the Father’s Day card that I bought in June last year but forgot to give him in September last year so that he could have it in June this year, on Father’s Day, which is not the Australian Father’s Day, but would have been ok as where he is, it is actually Father’s Day.

Maybe I’ll just phone him now.

Chocolate/Banana/Honeycomb/Pavlova that I’m not eating (photo shamelessly stolen from my sister’s FB page, shhh, don’t tell her)

Today was a cutback week for the long, slow, run. It was a much cooler morning than yesterday, so a pleasant 6 miles. I ran a very different route than my usual and managed to get it spot on distance wise. It was not that exciting as scenery goes and there were more cars than I would like for a Sunday morning LSR, but still nice not to do something different.

Juneathon Stats:

  • Running:  40.39 miles
  • Cycling: 19 miles
  • Core Strengthening: 5 x sessions
  • Yoga: 1 x 1.5 hr class
6 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 15 – Father’s Day, it really is quite simple.

  1. If someone made me a dessert that looked and sounded that yummy then they would be my favourite too !

  2. F A I N T!!! oh my gosh that has made my taste buds go into overdrive!!! drooool!!! even have spittle showing at the corners of my mouth! *sigh*

  3. … want to steal the recipe while you’re at it?? 😉

  4. I would run a marathon every day to eat that dessert!!!!!

Leave a Reply

