The Winsome Run

a running blog

Loch Ard Long Run

4 Comments

I’ve not posted since the penultimate day of Juneathon, but I promise I have been running! I’m now at the start of week 8 of the Hal Higdon Marathon Training Plan, 10 weeks to go until the Loch Ness Marathon. Eeek!

The Sunday before last was a cut back long run, which gave me fresh legs for a PB at Victoria parkrun Saturday: 27:22 – edging closer to that sub-27!

Yesterday was a 14 mile long, slow run. While my parents were visiting I took them for a few walks, including to the Queen Elizabeth Forest Park, about 50 minutes north of Glasgow. Walking the trails with them I decided it would be the ideal location for a long trail run. I mentioned it to a couple of running club friends and in the end 6 of us hit the trails. Due to jog leading commitments for the Sunday morning club run, we did not get away until after midday. We drove to Kinlochard, parked then ran along the well marked trails, which gave us stunning views across Loch Ard, The Trossachs and Ben Lomond.

The weather was perfect, the trails were dry and mostly easy to run on. The guys were all significantly faster than me, but they kindly waited at cross points for me and I had company for some of the stretches. We misjudged the routes slightly (!) and ended up hitting 14 miles at the sign indicating that we still had 2.5 miles back to the car! The last few miles were more walking than running and we had given up hope on the Wee Blether Tea Room still being open, but they agreed to serve us and the cakes were worth the extra two miles.

The run was a definite success and we have plans to do more trail runs in the future.

4 thoughts on “Loch Ard Long Run

  1. Nice to see you 🙂 hope the moving all went well. Good job on the 14miler. Exciting that the Marathons not far away – you will be awesome x

  2. Looks fantastic from the photos. Did you take any pictures of the cake?

Leave a Reply

