The Winsome Run

a running blog

5 sleeps to go…

6 Comments

This evening my marathon training plan called for a 2 mile run. Two miles! The last time I set out to run only 2 miles was…well, I don’t know, not this year that’s for sure.

I entered the Loch Ness marathon back during Janathon and it is now only 5 sleeps until the big day (where has the year gone?!).  I’m really happy with how my training has gone: I’ve followed the Hal Higdon Novice 2 Plan faithfully, missing only a couple of short runs due to niggles and one 12 mile cut back long run while on holiday. I’ve remained injury free and really enjoyed most of my runs, particularly the ones when I got off the road and onto the trails. Now all that is left to do is get a few nights of decent sleep, stuff my face with carbs, pack my bag without forgetting my Garmin or my trainers and get to the meeting point on time.

The Plan:

I’m getting the train to Inverness on Friday evening so that on Saturday morning I can run Inverness parkrun. Don’t say it! I know. It is a crazy plan, but it seems silly to go all that way and not tick a parkrun off my list 🙂

Two of my friends from running club are driving up Saturday so we will meet and visit the Event Village to get our numbers and find somewhere that sells pasta for dinner, that is not overrun by fellow marathoners. Then it will be D-Day! Eeek

The Goals:

  • Happy – Finish the race
  • Happier – Finish and have fun
  • Happiest – Finish in under 5 hours

I really have no idea how realistic my under 5 hours goal is. The Runner’s World Time Predictor tells me I can do under 4:40, based on May’s half marathon time, but I’m taking that with a pinch of salt as my 21 miles a few weeks ago took me 4:29. Also I’m keeping in mind the fact that the most common response when I tell people I’m running the Loch Ness Marathon is: “Woah! I hope you’re training on hills”.

I have been training on hills – hopefully it will be enough, but at least there will be some stunning scenery to enjoy.

Right, now for some carb loading. Chocolate counts as carbs doesn’t it?

6 thoughts on “5 sleeps to go…

  1. Good luck! Hope all goes well! Look forward to hearing about it all when you’ve recovered! 🙂

  2. Wishing you lots and lots of really good sleep for the next five days. I’m so excited to hear how you go. Love the goals, whatever happens you are going to be happy with the result. It was lovely to read that you have been so pleased with the training. One of my running friends before Point to Pinnacle last year told me to ‘trust my training’. It was such a good thing to hear so I’m gong to give that to you ‘trust your training’ – sounds like it’s all going t be amazing xxx The faint cheers when you get a little tired are me yelling loudly from Tassie xxx YOU CAN DO IT!!!

  3. Thank you for your kind wishes. “Trust the training” is very good advice & I’ll make that one of my pre-race mantras to help calm the nerves! X

  4. Just stopping by to wish you all the best for tomorrow, it’s come round so quick. Can’t wait to read all about it. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

