The Winsome Run

a running blog

Jimmy Irvine 10k

7 Comments

My last race of the year was this morning’s Jimmy Irvine 10k, a race put on by the Bellahouston Road Runners in Bellahouston Park, on the south side of Glasgow. I ran it last year in torrential autumn rain, managing a PB. This year I roped in some of my running club friends to join me.

The day got off to an inauspicious start when I discovered in the car that I had left my Garmin at home (3rd time in as many weeks that I’ve left the house Garmin-less, maybe it’s a sign!). Thankfully yesterday I had finally got around to getting a new battery for my regular watch, so I at least had that.

Club mate Chris had kindly collected our numbers yesterday so we just had to show up this morning for an 11 o’clock start, which made for a leisurely start to the day, though annoyingly I woke at my usual getting-up-for-parkrun-time.

We joined the 650 other runners in perfect autumn conditions (cool, dry and windless) for the two lap course through the park. I did not have high standards for myself, given that my parkruns over the past few weeks have been fairly dismal. I missed the 1k marker and was surprised to reach 2k just as my watch hit 10 minutes. I was on track for a cracking time. I was pretty sure it wouldn’t last.

At the 5 k mark my pace was slipping and I was beginning to tell myself that it was too hard, I didn’t care what my time was, it didn’t matter anyway. I kept on though and with 3k to go I realised that I would definitely get in under the hour and maybe get close to my PB so I pushed a little harder.  I knew I had a PB when I crossed the line as the clock touched 58 minutes. My chip time was 57:44 –  33 seconds off my old PB from May.

The two laps are not identical which gives the course more interest and this, added to the brilliant organisation and friendly support make for a very enjoyable and cheap race. Goody bag consists of a technical t-shirt, a Tunnock’s caramel log, water and banana. It is not surprising that this race is a sell out.

The rain has now set in for the afternoon, a good day for curling up on the sofa with a good book. I can feel virtuous with my morning’s effort. 😀

7 thoughts on “Jimmy Irvine 10k

  1. Congratulations on the PB! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a really good event and a cool goody bag. After doing some not so well organised events lately I really appreciate the ones that are. Very well done on the PB!

  3. Worth it just for the Tunnocks log. Best thing about living north of the Border! Well done on PB! I am inspired. Haven’t run for months 😦

Leave a Reply

