The Winsome Run

a running blog

We Interrupt this Transmission for … a Quilt

15 Comments

When I’m not running and reading running blogs I can usually be found quilting or reading quilting blogs (work and Twitter also fit in there somewhere). I have recently finished this quilt for a friend.

IMG_0816.JPG

The pattern is a Single Irish Chain inspired by this one and this one. The fabric is a jelly roll of 1930’s Playtime (2013) by Chloe’s Closet for Moda. I kept the black strips for the binding (which I did not get a good photo of).

IMG_0818.JPG

The backing is an Ikea duvet cover. Unfortunately it’s not sold anymore, because I love it & would have bought a couple more for future quilt backings!

IMG_0810.JPG

My friend, Suse, and I met in Sydney on our first day of university as undergrad Occupational Therapy students nearly 19 years ago (eek). She and her husband met here in the UK but now live back in Australia. They have just been back here visiting family so I made the trip to London to catch up with them and to give Suse her quilt. We also visited the poppy installation at the Tower of Londonย which was incredibly moving.

IMG_0830.JPG

The Tower of London

Right, I’m off to parkrun. Normal blogging services to return shortly!

IMG_0855.JPG

15 thoughts on “We Interrupt this Transmission for … a Quilt

  1. Love your quilt and the 30s prints!

  2. The quilt is really lovely – great idea to use the black strips for the binding. I bet that poppy installation was mind-boggling, so many deaths represented so visually; I would have loved to see it in person, I am sure the TV pictures didn’t do it justice.

    • Thanks for saying hi!
      The poppies were really amazing, the photos definitely don’t do it justice. I actually flew into Heathrow back in October and we could see the river of red around the castle – that was really moving.

  3. “… jelly roll..”
    I am now off to make a piece and jam… my ability to associate food with any subject matter is beginning to worry me! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Just beautiful, such a lovely way to celebrate friendship. You are very clever as well as sweet x

  5. Wow that is lovely, not sure how you have time to fit in such a big project AND run!

  6. What a lovely quilt you must be very pleased. Greetings from shazruns’ Mum – quilter!

    • Hello Shaz’s Mum!
      The jelly roll was an impulse buy & it took me awhile to decide on a pattern, but I’m very happy with how it has turned out.
      Thanks for saying hi ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I love the quilt! It’s really pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

