The Winsome Run

a running blog

Janathon Day 10 – parkrun day

4 Comments

I gave parkrun tourism a miss this morning and headed back to ole faithful at Victoria. The rain had cleared but the wind was still gusty and icy. Despite putting my gloves and buff at the front door, I managed to step over them and leave them at home, which made for a chilly start to the run, thank goodness for the long sleeves on my wool base layer.

There were a couple of large puddles in the park, so the course was altered slightly to keep us from turning the grass into a quagmire. My legs felt a bit heavy during the 1 mile jog over to the park, so I did not set myself any goals and my Garmin was covered by my sleeve. I had a peek at it during the second lap and was surprised to find my pace was just over 9 min/mile. In the end I was pleased with a 28:51 – my fastest parkrun for a few months.

I spotted Derek from Athletic Aspirations at the finish line, but it was too cold to stand around chatting for long – hope you made it home in one piece Derek!

I plan to spend the rest of the day tucked up inside alternating between the sofa with my book and playing with the fabric that is currently spread out across my living room floor 🙂

IMG_1067

4 thoughts on “Janathon Day 10 – parkrun day

  1. Loving the colours of the quilt in design!

Leave a Reply

