The Winsome Run

a running blog

Janathon Day 21 – A Run!

6 Comments

Somehow, nearly a week has passed and I’ve not been for a run! So icy pavements or not, I was determined to get a run in this evening. I recced the pavements while driving home from work and decided that as long as I headed to the busiest parts of the West End, around the Kelvingrove and University, I would be pretty safe from ice.

I was glad I did. In the heart of the West End it was hard to tell that there had even been any snow and I had a clear run along most of my route. Where there was ice, it was more like slushy snow, so I trod carefully and continued on. It was also nice to revisit routes that I’ve not used much in the last couple of years.

That was until the return journey along Dumbarton Rd when I had to wait for traffic at every damn intersection and weave my way around gaggles of University students who were determined to take up the whole pavement. I remember now why I don’t run that route!

Nevermind, it was great to be back running.

Tonight’s run came to 4.5 miles (worked out on Walk, Jog, Runย after my Garmin had a hissy fit for being ignored for a week and went blank halfway round).

Total Janathon:

  • Running: 53.7 miles
6 thoughts on “Janathon Day 21 – A Run!

  1. Gosh, sounds so cold! It was 28ยฐC last night and still sitting on 24 at 9:30pm. I didn’t go for a run last night because of the heat. But I think I’d rather be coping with the heat than the icy conditions. Spring is around the corner.

  2. Well done on going out there! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Good job! How I long for -4C ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I often look wistfully at photos of muddy and cold parkruns, but I always forget how difficult it would be to run regularly given the risk of icy paths! Well done on getting out there, and on finding a good route to run. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

