The Winsome Run

a running blog

Aberdeen parkrun

9 Comments

Aberdeen is 150 miles north east of Glasgow, a 2 hour 40 minute drive. Now call me a lightweight, but I’m not getting out of bed on a Saturday morning at 6 am so that I can go to one of the two parkruns in Aberdeen.

An overnight trip was required.

By happy coincidence one of my friends has an Aunt in Aberdeen who works in a quilting shop, that has a long arm quilting machine. Debs wanted a lesson on the quilting machine, I wanted to run at parkrun, so we headed up yesterday morning.

Is it weird that I took a day of annual leave just to do a parkrun?

I chose the slightly closer of the two parkruns, Aberdeen, starting at the Bridge of Don Nature Reserve, a couple of miles north of the city. The run is an out and back course along the esplanade: The ‘out’ heading towards Aberdeen on the upper esplanade path, with the turn around taking us down to the lower path for the return.

 

Lead runners returning on the lower path

After a week of gorgeous spring weather across Scotland, it came to a wet and windy end over night. Despite what it looks like above, it was not actually raining, though the North Sea was still making its presence felt. I had stupidly forgotten how cold Scotland can be (I have a very short memory) and did not have gloves with me, so spent half the run not able to feel my fingers. This was good motivation to get back into the car as quickly as possible, though the head wind on the return slowed me down to finish in just over 28 minutes.

We were staying at a Travelodge which has a 12pm checkout, so I returned and showered before we headed out for brunch (pancakes with bacon and maple syrup), followed by a wander around Aberdeen. We continued being tourists on the way home with a stop atย Glamis Castle, childhood home of the Queen Mother.

I arrived home at about 7 pm, and realised that I had not received my results email. Hmmm. I checked the results page and at 28 minutes there was a blank. Aaaarrggghh! 300+ mile round trip for NOTHING!

After a brief panic, I sent a polite email to the organisers at Aberdeen parkrun and they very kindly amended the results. Phew!

So that is myย 13th Scottish parkrun in the bag. As of next Saturday there will be 18 parkruns across Scotland: It seems to be that the more I do the more I have to do! Nevermind, such a great excuse to visit new parts of Scotland.

 

ย 

 

9 thoughts on “Aberdeen parkrun

  1. Amazing dedication to the running parkrun cause, well done.

  2. Crumbs. A free 5k timed run… But maybe ยฃ50 for the overnight travelodge… Nutter ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. That’s awesome that Scotland has so many parkruns! We only have two here in Tasmania, but a third starting soon so it’s catching on.

    Well done on number 13 (and great photos). ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! parkrun has grown phenomenally here in 5 years – much bigger population though. Looking forward to my next trip home to add some Tassie parkruns to my list ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. If you ever find yourself up in Aberdeen again, you should give the Hazlehead parkrun a go! Much more pleasant (and interesting) than the beach! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

