The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 11 – Club run

13 Comments

I was chatting to a friend today who has had a similar experience with post-run nausea. Her conclusion was an electrolyte imbalance and she started drinking coconut water on her runs which sorted it out. I asked her if the coconut water is nice. “I wouldn’t go that far” was her response. I was in Sainsbury’s after work and they had this reduced from £3.50 to the bargain price of £2. 

 

I tried a glass before my run this evening. 

It was vile.

Back to the drawing board!

Out for a club run this evening, on the hottest day of the year so far. I joined the 7.5 k group and we had an awesome run through the Kelvingrove Park including the Park Quadrant Stairs. After this brief photo stop we ran to the top. 

4.4 miles

13 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 11 – Club run

  1. That looks like a lot of steps to run up!

  2. Coconut water IS the single most vile liquid I have EVER put past my lips!!! Totally agree with you! Urgh! VOM!!’

  3. I’m yet to find anyone who actually likes the taste of coconut water. I won a crate of lemonade coconut water in a twitter competition last year, it was vile. Even my housemate who will drink anything struggled.

  4. Agree with you on the coconut water – yuck! There are flavoured ones that are quite nice though. If it’s an electrolyte balance what about something like the Hammer electrolyte capsules?

  5. i like coconuts, but coconut water–that’s a complete misnomer.

  6. I feel exactly the same re coconut milk!

  7. I got excited then, thought you had found the cure, but may be not

  8. When I was running in Jamaica everyone drank coconut water. There wasn’t really much of a flavour, it was the cheapest thing going, and is definitely good for post/during race nausea. Maybe try one of those corner groceries?

Leave a Reply

