The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 12 – Rejection

8 Comments

After reading Travelling Hopefully and Legthorn’s blogs this week I was inspired to get myself to the blood donation centre and give blood for the first time in about 5 years. I have no excuse for my slackness other than time passes very, very quickly. 

At the blood donation centre I nearly failed at the first hurdle when I couldn’t for the life of me remember the address of the place I was living when I last gave blood (ie where I was registered at). I finally remembered the postcode (the street address popped into my head about an hour later) only to be told, no.  Hmmm. 

The woman gave me a hint and it turns out I had changed my address with the blood donation service at some point since moving. So they eventually let me in the door. After a bazillion questions, a finger prick blood sample was taken to check my haemoglobin levels.

I failed. 

But only just, so they took a venous sample from my arm which is apparently often higher and more accurate. 

I failed that too. I was assured that my haemoglobin levels are in the perfectly healthy range. Just not the perfectly healthy enough range for blood donation. I was given a list of foods that are rich in iron and banned for six months 😞

Feeling rejected, I took myself shopping for summer clothes and wine. I’m not much of a shopper but this was moderately successful and I now have some shorts to wear in Australia at Christmas (and here over the next few months if I’m really, really lucky). 

My Juneathon effort was another master class in tokenism: 3 x 10 single leg squats (on each leg) and 3 x 1 minute reverse planks. Then I opened the wine.

8 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 12 – Rejection

  1. Well done! It’s rubbish when a donation goes wrong, I always want to demand another go. Fingers crossed for next time.

  2. Well done for getting back in the game. Don’t let this time put you off. I’ve not donated this year but have booked myself an appointment (to fit round my busy summer of racing!) to get back myself.

  3. I used to give blood but developed a habit of fainting while drinking my juice and eating my biscuit after. I let slip that this had happened a few times so now they’ve banned me!

  4. I once completely screwed their results by forgetting to wash my hands before going. I had just peeled a satsuma and this apparently doesn’t give good haemoglobin. Good tokenism, don’t underestimate the effort involved in opening the wine 😉

  5. Token Juneathon effort and wine. Sounds good to me.

Leave a Reply

