The Winsome Run

a running blog

Juneathon Day 14 – Running with the club

5 Comments

My running club meets on Sundays at 10:45 am. This usually feels like too late a start for me, so I will often head out on my own at 9:30 so that running doesn’t inhabit the whole of the day. This morning though I needed a sleep in so planned to run with the club. 

The temperature at 10:30 on the 14th June? According to my car it was 9.5C. On Friday the temperature was 24C. I honestly don’t know why I’m surprised – welcome to a Scottish summer!

  

Today at club there were 3 distance groups: a 15k, 10k and 5k. I checked out who was joining which group before making my decision, immediately discounting the 15kers as all the super speedsters headed that way. I ended up with the 10k group and we ran down High St to Glasgow Green, a park that borders the Clyde. Because of the cool, overcast weather the park was nearly empty and it was quiet and peaceful, and now that we were warmed up, it was perfect running conditions. We ran two laps of the park before embarking on the 1.5 uphill slog back to our starting point.
At my count this is only the second or third time this year that I’ve joined the faster runners on a club run. This has partly been due to my jog leading duties with the beginner 5k then 10k groups, partly injuries, partly laziness. I know running with faster people is a very effective way to improve times and I suspect this is one of the key reasons that certain club mates have rapidly overtaken me this year. 

Today I was able to keep in contact with the back of the group, pushing myself without it being too uncomfortable. I lost contact on the return hill, made worse by an unlucky light change, but rather than losing heart and plodding up it, I lifted my pace and pushed myself to the top. I was knackered when I got there but happy with the result. My goal for the rest of the year is to run at least 2 x month with the faster groups on club runs.

Juneathon Day 14 – 6.13 miles

Juneathon Total – 41.2 miles

5 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 14 – Running with the club

  1. 41 MILES!!! Who’s mad now!

  2. Great job! (That DOES seem like a really late start for a morning group run. Ours usually starts at 7a, and that’s a little early for me, though).

  3. I am very jealous of your running club. My nearest is over 30 mins drive away. Sounds fun.

Leave a Reply

