The Winsome Run

a running blog

Almost a parkrun PB

Leave a comment

I set my 5k PB of 28:06 at the first Victoria parkrun in October 2013. However because of my niggling Tib Post injury I’ve since then had to avoid all-out parkrun attempts, instead aiming for times around the 30minute mark, which requires a pace higher than I was managing on my usual runs.

I’ve been working hard on the rehab and things are going well so I decided to see what would happen if I went all out. 

My legs felt quite heavy for the first few hundred metres and I felt a little discouraged until I realised my pace was under 9 minutes/mile! Victoria parkrun is a 3 lap course and I’m normally overtaken by the front markers just as I’m approaching the start of my second lap. Yesterday I was halfway round my second lap before being overtaken.

I wasn’t able to sustain the sub 9 mintue/mile pace but I still managed to cross the line in 28:16 which I was very pleased with. And in even more pleasing news my ankle has been fine since.

Leave a comment